News : 2011 : November

Celebrating the grand opening of the Multidisciplinary Pain Center are, from left, Keith Candiotti, M.D., Charles Nemeroff, M.D., Ph.D., Sherrill Hayes, Ph.D., PT, David A. Lubarsky, M.D., M.B.A., and Ashwin Mehta, M.D., M.P.H.

New UM Pain Center Offers Unique Team Approach

When David A. Lubarsky, M.D., M.B.A., the Emanuel M. Papper Professor and Chair of Anesthesiology, Perioperative Medicine and Pain Management, joined the Miller School more than a decade ago, he was intent on establishing a departmental pain clinic and, over the years, oversaw at least eight different plans.

Read more »

Pedro Ruiz, M.D., celebrates his award with radio host Judy Kuriansky, Ph.D.

Vice Chair of Psychiatry Receives Human Rights Award

Pedro Ruiz, M.D., professor and executive vice chair and director of clinical programs in the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, received the Irving Blumberg Human Rights Award from the American Association for Psychosocial Rehabilitation.

Read more »

Lourdes Illa, M.D., left, and Marisa Echenique, Psy.D., are using a grant to expand suicide prevention services for students.

Grant Aims to Boost Suicide Prevention Programs for UM Students

Armed with a three-year, $295,653 grant from the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), the Miller School’s Lourdes Illa, M.D., and Marisa Echenique, Psy.D.,from the Department of Psychiatry and Behavioral Sciences, are expanding suicide prevention resources for students. Suicide is the third leading cause of death among people ages 14 to 24.

Read more »